Gran Canaria and the Canary Islands share 8 official “bank holidays” with the rest of Spain in 2022. The regional communities are autonomous and also have flexibility around four other common holidays, Thursday, April 14 (Holy Thursday), Monday, May 2 (the Monday following the labour Day festivities), Monday, July 25 (Santiago Apóstol, patron saint of Spain) and December 26 (the Monday following Christmas), which allows for celebrations to move, and some have, so they will not necessarily be bank holidays in all of Spain. This year the Labour Day, May Day, Fiesta del Trabajo falls on a Sunday.

In addition to these, each of the Canary Island has its own official holiday and each municipality decides two or their own, one of which is usually their patron saint’s day.

Here is a list of all the official bank holidays on Gran Canaria for 2022.

According to the Law of Ordination of Commercial Activity of the Canary Islands, each year ten Sundays and holidays are also decided on which businesses may remain open to the public if they choose to.
For the island of Gran Canaria, the days were set as: January 2, April 14, May 29, November 1 and 27 and December 6, 8, 11, 18 and 26, 2022. 

JANUARY

 

Saturday, 1 January
Public holiday in Spain – New Year.

Thursday, 6 January
Public holiday in Spain – The Epiphany of the Lord, Reyes Magos, Epifanía del Señor

Thursday, 20 January 
Local bank holiday in Agüimes – Festivities of San Sebastian



FEBRUARY

 


Wednesday, 2 February

Local bank holiday in Ingenio – Festividad de Nuestra Señora de la Candelaria y San Blas, Our Lady of Candelaria

 

 



MARCH

 

Tuesday, 1 March 
Local Bank holiday in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Arucas, Firgas, Moya, Santa Brígida, Santa María de Guía, Tedeja, Teror, Valleseco – Martes de Carnaval, Shrove Tuesday, Pancake Day, Mardi gras

Thursday, 3 March 
Local Bank Holiday in Agüimes  – Carnival Thursday

 



APRIL

 


Thursday, 14 April 

Public holiday in The Canary Islands/Spain – Holy Thursday, Jueves Santo.

Friday, 15 April
Public holiday in Spain – Good Friday, Viernes Santo.

 

 



MAY

 

Friday, 13 May 
Local bank holiday in San Mateo – Festivities of Virgen of Fatima.

Monday, 30 May
Local Bank Holiday in the Canary Islands – Día de Canarias, The Day of The Canary Islands

 



JUNE

Monday, 6 June
Local bank holiday in Valleseco – Festivities of San Vicente Ferrer

Monday, 13 June
Local bank holiday in Mogán and Santa Brídiga – Festivities of San Antonio de Padua.

Monday, 20 June 
Local Bank holiday in Moya – Festivities of San Antonio de Padua ( St. Anthony).

Friday, 24 June 
Local Bank holiday in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Telde, Arucas, La Aldea de San Nicolás, Teror
Foundational festivities of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, festivities in honour of San Juan Bautista in Telde, Arucas and La Aldea and Festividad del Sagrado Corazón de Jesús in Teror

Wednesday, 29 June
Local Bank holiday in Agaete and in Ingenio – Festividad San Pedro Apóstol, Festivities in honour of St Peter



JULY

 

Saturday, 16 July 
Local Bank holiday in Mogán – Virgen del Carmen, the patron saint of sailors and fishermen.

Monday, 25 July
Local bank holiday in Gáldar and San Bartolomé de Tirajana – Festividad de Santiago Apóstol, the patron festivities in honour of Saint James the Apostle.

Tuesday, 26 July
Local bank holiday in Gáldar
– Festivities of Santa Ana



AUGUST

 

Friday, 5 August 
Local bank holiday in Agaete – Festivities of Lady of the snow: Festividad de Nuestra Señora de las Nieves

Monday, 15 August 
Public holiday in Spain – The feast of the Assumption, Asunción de la Virgen

Tuesday, 16 August 
Local bank holiday in Firgas, Santa María de Guía and Valsequillo – Festivities of San Roque

Wednesday, 24 August
Local bank holiday in San Bartolomé de Tirajana – the co-patronal celebrations of San Bartolomé.

Monday 29 August
Local bank holiday in Artenara – Day after the Feast of the Virgen de la Cuevita, Día posterior a la Festividad de la Virgen de la Cuevita



SEPTEMBER

 

Thursday, 8 September 
Bank holiday on Gran Canaria, Lady of the Pine, the Patron Saint of Gran Canaria.

Saturday, 10 September 
Local bank holiday in La Aldea – Fiestas in honour of the patron Saint, San Nicolás de Tolentino. (Día del Charco is on Sunday, 11 September)

Monday, 12 September
Local bank holiday in Tejeda – Day after the Festivities of the Virgen del Socorro, The patron of the municipality.

Wednesday, 14 September 
Local Bank holiday in Artenara – Día del Santo Cristo de Acusa, The Christ of Acusa

Wednesday, 21 September 
Local bank holiday in San Mateo – Festivities of St. Matthew.

Thursday, 29 September 
Local bank holiday in Valsequillo – The feast of Saint Michael, San Miguel.



OCTOBER

 

Wednesday, 12 October
Public holiday in Spain: Fiesta Nacional de España. Día de la Hispanidad. (Indigenous Peoples and Intercultural Dialogue Day)

Monday, 24 October
Public holiday in Santa Lucía – Festividad de San Rafael, Patron festivities of San Rafael in Vecindario

 

 


 

NOVEMBER

 

Tuesday, 1 November 
Public holiday in Spain, All saints’ Day, All Hallows’ Day, Halloween, Todos los Santos.

Thursday, November 17
Local Bank holiday in Telde – The festivities in honour of San Gregorio

 



DECEMBER

 

Tuesday, 6 December 
Public holiday in Spain, Spanish Constitution Day, Día de la Constitución Española

Thursday, 8 December 
Public holiday in Spain, The Immaculate Conception, Inmaculada Concepción.

Monday, 13 December 
Local bank holiday in Santa Lucia de Tirajana – Saint Lucy’s Day.

Monday, December 26
Public holiday in The Canary Islands/Spain – Christmas, Natividad del Señor.

 

 

 

 
The 8 days that will be a bank holiday throughout Spain in 2022
 
Saturday, January 1 (New Year) – Thursday, January 6 (Epiphany of the Lord) –  Friday, April 15 (Good Friday) – Monday, August 15 (Assumption of the Virgin) –  Wednesday, October 12 (National Holiday of Spain) – Tuesday, November 1 (All Saints) – Tuesday, December 6 (Spanish Constitution Day) – Thursday, December 8 (Immaculate Conception)